top of page
  • Writer's pictureMay Vaughan

Poetry in Pensions newsletter

poetry, pottery and pensions


I think that one of my favourite parts of being YPL so far this year, has been the ability that it has given me to connect with all different people. Poetry is powerful and it's taken me to some unexpected places. Such as the pages of a pensions newsletter! While I may not be the target audience, I was given an opportunity to share my work with people who are. The poem featured is Home, something that I wrote many months back as part of the selection process for young poet laurate. It's about Warwickshire, but more deeply its about my connection to this place that has always been my home, and the implications of leaving - alongside some pottery imagery. I hope that anyone who finds it through the pensions newsletter sees a new angle at looking at Warwickshire, from a young person, or perhaps a sense of connection to the way I view the world. Afterall, poetry is powerful!


If you found my poetry through the pension's newsletter, I'd love to know what you think! mayvaughanwrites@gmail.com


 

My poem

Home 

Sometimes I think I am untethered  

Taut to earth with sugar paper threads 

If you call my name, 

try to teach me poetry; 

Epics, Iambic. (I am lost to meter). 

I will never reply, and there will be  

Both of our words.  Lost 

 

Sometimes I find the streets, places. 

There is a mural venerated 

An accolade of faces. 

I am spat out on the tarmac 

By someone famous and their plaque 

And I will find my way back. 

 

Somewhere between the terraces and river 

There is a reminder of me, seven. 

This place rolls off the tongue as home. 

I am, suns for eyes, watching 

A woman selling pottery, how  

She has cut out this earth as well 

And made-up sentences to fit 

Molded into cups and saucers. 

And it rolls off the tongue as home. 


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page